History made! Wolverines Win B1G Tournament Championship


History made! Wolverines Win B1G Tournament Championship

01/05/2022 18:20:00

// Kristy McNeil

Site: Madison, Wis. (Nielson Tennis Center)

Result: #7 Michigan 4, #4 Ohio State 2

Recordings: UM (22-3), OSU (24-3)

Next UM event: Monday, May 2 – NCAA Draft Show, 6:00 p.m.

MADISON, Wis. — The University of Michigan Men’s Tennis Team is the 2022 Big Ten Tournament Champions! The Wolverines clinched their first-ever Big Ten tournament title with a 4-2 victory over arch-rival and top-seeded Ohio State, claiming victory on Sunday (May 1) at the Nielson Tennis Center.

Michigan has been a runner-up three times since the tournament began in 1999. This is the third time they have faced OSU in the title game. They will receive the league’s automatic offer for the NCAA Tournament.

Wolverines fought back after losing the doubles point for only the fourth time this season. Although he didn’t win the point, the No. 36 Andrew Fenty and Nino Ehrenschneider handed the No.1-ranked duo of Matej Vocel and Robert Cash a 6-3 loss, the pair’s fourth loss this season.

UM began their comeback in singles, as Ehrenschneider put the Maize and Blue on the board at No. 5 beating Robert Cash in straight sets, 6-2, 6-4.

All eyes were on the back three pitches Patrick Maloney and Nick Beaty were both in deciding sets. Maloney fell behind in the first set against Vocel but tied things up quickly. At 5-5, Maloney won the next match and took a 5-1 lead in the tiebreaker before the 7-2 scoreline gave him the first set victory. He was in perfect control of the second set, taking a 3-1 lead before finishing it 6-4.

On the next court, Beaty went back and forth with No. 42-ranked James Trotter. Tied at 5-5, Beaty won his next two matches to clinch the 7-5 victory. The second set was pretty much the same with everyone trading points in the tiebreaker. Beaty fought back from an 0-4 tiebreaker deficit to claim the next four points and seven of the last eight to win the game and put Michigan ahead 3-1.

OSU grabbed a run at No. 3 as No. 21 JJ Tracy won 7-6(7), 6-4 from No. 63 Andrew Fentyto make it a one-point game in the team’s score at 3-2.

On the first court, n° 30 Ondrej Styler and No. 10 Cannon Kingsley had traded sets as Kingsley won 7-5 before Styler took a 7-6 (7-2) victory in the second set. Trading games, Styler picked up back-to-back wins to make it 5-3, one game away from victory. Kingsley came back to win the next game to make it 5-4 and still gave Styler the chance to win in a game and that’s exactly what he did by taking the win 6-4, as the team stormed the field.

No. 61 Jacob Bickersteth rallied to win the second set and also forced a third set. He took a 2-0 lead before Jake Van Emburgh won two games to level at 2-2 before leaving 3-3 unfinished.

The NCAA Draft Show will take place at 6 p.m. ET on Monday, May 2 on NCAA.com. The first and second rounds are scheduled for May 6 and 7 on campus.

Here are the match-by-match results:

No. 1 — No. 30 Ondrej Styler (UM) v No. 10 Cannon Kingsley (OSU) 5-7, 7-6 (7-2), 6-4
No. 2 — Patrick Maloney (UM) d. No. 11 Matej Vocel (OSU) 7-6 (7-2), 6-4
No. 3 — No. 21 JJ Tracy (OSU) d. No. 63 Andrew Fenty (UM) 7-6 (9-7), 6-4
No. 4 — No. 61 Jacob Bickersteth (UM) vs. No. 117 Jake Van Emburgh (OSU) 6-7 (5-7) 6-4, 3-3 unfinished
No. 5 — No. 103 Nino Ehrenschneider (UM) d. Robert Cash (OSU) 6-2, 6-4
Number 6 — Nick Beaty (UM) d. No. 42 James Trotter (OSU) 7-5, 7-6 (7-5)

No. 1 — No. 36 Andrew Fenty/Nino Ehrenschneider (UM) d. No. 1 Matej Vocel/Robert Cash (OSU) 6-3
No. 2 — Justin Boulais/Andrew Lutschaunig (OSU) d. Patrick Maloney/Nick Beaty (UM) 6-4
No. 3 — Cannon Kingsley/JJ Tracy (OSU) d. Ondrej Styler/Gavin Young (UM) 6-3

Order of completion: Doubles 3-1-2; Singles 5-2-6-3-1


Comments are closed.