FC Goa hold Bengaluru FC 2-2 in Durand Cup : Newsdrum


Kolkata, Aug 30 (PTI) FC Goa have withdrawn from the Durand Cup football tournament after their young side held Sunil Chhetri-led Bengaluru FC to an entertaining 2-2 draw in a Group A game here Tuesday.

Reigning champions Goan came from behind in the second half to share the spoils with Phrangki Buam (53rd minute) and Lesly Rebello (64th) scoring to nullify goals from Sunil Chhetri (24th) and N Siva Sakthi (26th).

The Blues dominated the game from the start and had the majority of possession in the first half. They left no chance for the Gaurs to settle in the game.

The first goal came in the 24th minute from a free kick, after a foul on Rohit Kumar just outside the box. Chhetri deliciously curled one into the top right corner to give Bengaluru FC a deserved lead. It was the talisman’s third goal of the tournament.

Bengaluru continued to dominate the proceedings with Bruno Ramires at the heart of things, providing accurate passes to wingers Udanta Singh and Namgyal Bhutia. The pair were always ready to run into the open spaces left by the Goa defence.

One of those balls from Bruno found Udanta who headed it through the six-yard box for Siva Sakthi to score his second of the tournament and double BFC’s lead.

BFC started the second half brilliantly but FC Goa showed more vigor and desire to get back into the game. The Goans started pressing higher up the pitch, creating more chances. The BFC midfielder and defense are under pressure and concede the first goal on a blunder.

A weak header to the keeper by Rohit Kumar was poached by Buam, who rounded keeper Amrit Gope to finish with consummate ease.

Goa continued to attack and the second goal came in the 63rd minute from a blistering run by Vasim Inamdar, who pushed the ball past captain Lesley Rebello to send the ball between the keeper’s legs.

The Gaurs finished their Durand Cup campaign with four points while Bengaluru have seven points from three games.

Bengaluru will face Mohammedan Sporting on September 2 to decide the winners of Group A. PTI PDS PDS BS BS


Comments are closed.